What’s Your Hunger?

ImageI’m so excited about sharing with you some thoughts I have about a movie that absolutely blew me away!  This movie is The Hunger Games.  Wow! What a movie! 

I hope I’ve captured your attention to see my excitement in telling you about it.  I’m not one that goes to see a movie and runs home to tell others to see it, but this one excited me like never before.  Always when I watch a movie or TV show, I ask God what He wants me to see through it.  When I watched The Hunger Games I was captivated with the reality that I was viewing the world after the rapture.  This is what the world will look like after all believers are gone.  As I sat there and watched, all I could do was rejoice that believers don’t have to join into this.  Because the world has become so vile, it has chosen to kill children for sport.  You find people rooting for kids to get killed.  The very children that God loves become the very sport of man. 

In 2 Timothy 3, Paul cautions us about this. He says “In the last days difficult times will come.”  Verses 2-9 give specifics of what the end times will look like:

“men will be lovers of self, lovers of money, boastful, arrogant, revilers, disobedient to parents, ungrateful, unholy, unloving, irreconcilable, malicious gossips, without self-control, brutal, haters of good, treacherous, reckless, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, holding to a form of godliness, although they have denied its power; Avoid such men as these….those captivate weak women..they are learning and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth…these men oppose truth…their folly has become obvious to all.” 

Wow.  When I read what the end times look like and I see Hunger Games, I realize this is exactly how far the world will have come.  This is a great show for everyone to see and discuss with their children and admit that we have got to change the way we view 2 Timothy 3.  We can’t allow our existence to be all about ourselves.  I’m not saying that we’re close to the end times; however, if the world ends today I would be excited about that.  But, if we get more days to live on earth, I pray we become more focused on making a difference for Christ.  All this movie did was make me want to go back and read Revelation. 

Begin to look to chapters 4 and following.  It helps me realize just how difficult it is going to be when we enter into the 7 years of tribulation.  All I know is I want everyone to know Jesus and fall deeply and intimately in love with the Father.  It is movies like The Hunger Games that make me realize how much I must love Jesus; I can’t let the world influence me, but I must influence the world in the name of Christ. 

I hope this is an encouragement to you to talk to your children, to talk to your friends, and to go see the movie.  Then, have conversations that are completely focused on Jesus.  Have a great day! Love you more than you think.

Your friend,

In His grip,

Chancey

About kanakukchancey

My name is Keith Chancey and I am the President of the Kanakuk Institute, Director of Kanakuk K-Seven, Husband to Karen, and Daddy to Callie and Cameron! I am so blessed! View all posts by kanakukchancey

Leave a comment